Study programme


Programme structure

The academic year starts on 1 September and ends at the end of June. It consists of two semesters, from September to January and from February to June.

Core modules, Electives, Thesis

The master programme in Musicology encompasses 60 ECTS (European Credit Transfer System) points, to be completed in one year. Students are required to start the programme with a choice of core courses (24 ECTS) that cover aspects of Cultural musicology and Cognitive or Historical musicology and finish the programme with a 20,000-word thesis (18 ECTS). They choose several musicology and interdisciplinary electives (6 or 12 ECTS per elective). Core courses can also be chosen as electives.

The master's thesis reports on research carried out by the student under the supervision of two academic staff members involved in the programme. The subject of the thesis must be mutually agreed upon by the student and academic adviser(s).

Tutorials, Internships

There is, moreover, the opportunity to take an elective in the form of an individual tutorial with one of the lecturers about a research subject of your choice (6 ECTS). It is also possible to enroll for an internship (with a well-articulated research component) at one of the many professional music organizations, ensembles, music venues, and festivals in Amsterdam or elsewhere in the Netherlands (6 or 12 ECTS).

Semester 1

Two obligatory courses in Cultural Musicology (together 12 ECTS):

  • Cultural Musicology: Core Seminar (6 ECTS)
  • State of the Art: A Musicology oft he Everyday (6 ECTS)

One course out of two options:

  • History of Music in the 20th and 21st centuries (6 ECTS)
  • How Music Works: Cognitive and Computational musicology (6 ECTS)

Electives (6 ECTS)

Semester 2

  • Electives (12 ECTS)
  • Thesis (18 ECTS)

Detailed course information

For detailed course information, please see the UvA Course Catalogue (link below).

Published by  Faculty of Humanities

9 June 2017