For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!

Study programme

The Master's in East European Studies is a one-year programme that provides deeper learning and specialisation in the history, politics and culture of Eastern Europe. The first semester comprises two core modules and a series of electives, while the second semester focuses on the Master's Thesis.

Programme structure

The Master's in East European Studies comprises 60 ECTS credits:

  • 18 credits for core courses.
  • 24 credits for electives.
  • 18 credits for a Master's thesis.


The Master's thesis is an individual research project carried out by the student under the supervision of a staff member. During the first semester you identify your thesis subject and discuss it with your supervisor; the broad range of our faculty's expertise allows you to investigate almost any region and topic. In the Research Seminar of Block 3 you begin to explore your project in depth. The thesis writing takes place in the second semester. The final product will be evaluated by your supervisor and a second faculty member.


In the second semester, you have the option to replace one elective with an internship at an NGO, academic institution or in the diplomatic sector. The internship will give you hands-on experience in working with issues related to Eastern Europe and will make you a more attractive candidate when you enter the job market. You are welcome to engage our vast networks of international contacts, but finding placement is ultimately their own responsibility. The grade and the internship credits (6 EC) awarded will be based on your final report or research paper.

Detailed course information

For detailed course information, see the UvA Course Catalogue:

Credit transfer

Students who show exceptional promise during a regular or professional Master's programme are encouraged to continue their studies in a research Master's programme. Once students are admitted to the research Master's programme, they can transfer credits earned during their previous course of study towards their Research Master's degree. The Examinations Board determines which courses qualify for transfer.